18 GOP Senators Voted ‘Yes’ on $1.7 Trillion Omnibus Bill…Even Though It Included This

We need to remember who these 18 Republicans are who voted on Thursday to pass the $1.7 trillion “omnibus” bill that will fund the federal government for another fiscal year and is jammed with special interest earmarks that are appalling to most GOP voters at the base. 

One of those earmarks is $750,000 for a trans group that wants transgender “history and discourse” engrained in schools and primary education.

The Los Angeles-based group is called the TransLatin@ Coalition, it boasts a policy agenda from its website that also is looking for the dismantling of Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). The site declares hope to “dismantle and rebuild” the criminal justice system. They call for open borders so that transgender, gender non-conforming, and intersex (TGI) individuals can “peacefully migrate and safely navigate all land without discrimination or criminalization.”

Fox News reported these progressive policies after the bill was unveiled on Tuesday and the offices of the 21 Republican senators who voted to advance this legislation were contacted. They were asked how the knowledge of the full bill would affect their final vote. 

Although not one of them replied, 18 still voted “yes” to pass the bill.

These were the 18 senators: Sens. Roy Blunt (R-MO), John Boozman (R-AR), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Susan Collins (R-ME), John Cornyn (R-TX), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Rob Portman (R-OH), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Richard Shelby (R-AL), John Thune (R-SD), Roger Wicker (R-MS), and Todd Young (R-IN).

Sens. Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Marco Rubio (R-FL), and Tommy Tuberville (R-AL) voted in favor of advancing the legislation on Tuesday but voted against it on Thursday. 

The final vote was 68-29.